Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 20-0114    Version: 1 Name: H2O Community Development Authority Appointments
Type: Appointment Status: Complete
File created: 3/16/2020 In control: City Council Legislative Session
On agenda: 8/12/2020 Final action: 8/12/2020
Title: Consideration of Appointments to the H2O Community Development Authority
Indexes: ,
Consideration of Appointments to the H2O Community Development Authority


UPDATE FOR AUGUST 12, 2020 - No new applications received in the Board Bank.

UPDATED FOR JUNE 10, 2020 - On September 28, 2005, The H2O Community Development Authority (H2O) was created by an ordinance of the Hampton City Council. H2O approved bylaws by resolution on January 26, 2006. Those bylaws provided for a Board consisting of five members to be appointed by the City Council for four year terms. Those bylaws also provide that Council shall fill any vacancies except that the City Manager shall appoint a replacement for any vacancy of the City Manager's alternate.

The creating ordinance indicated that one member of the board would be the City Manager (or an alternate designated by the City Manager) with the other four members being recommended by the petitioner. Additionally three alternates were were to be appointed, also recommended by the petitioner.

The original board members' and alternates' terms began on September 28, 2005, and all expired on June 30, 2009. No staggering of terms was considered at that time. On June 14, 2017, Council passed a resolution providing that 'CDA Board members appointed on and after June, 2017, excluding any alternate member, shall be appointed initially for one at one year, one at two year, one at three year, and two at four years and thereafter for all for four year terms. It further stated that ' Any subsequently appointed alternate member shall have the same term as the member for whom such alternative member serves as an alternate.'

The most recent composition of H2O is comprised of individuals appointed on July 10, 2013:

Eleanor Weston Brown 7/10/13 - 6/30/17 (resigned 1/26/16)
John Ishon 7/10/13 - 6/30/17
James Eason 7/10/13 - 6/30/17
Larry Cumming 7/10/13 - 6/30/17
Robert Kochan, alternate 7/10/13 - 6/30/17
Carter Phillips, alternate 7/10/13 - 6/30/17 (resigned)

Click here for full text