## Year of Regional Citizenship

We, the elected leaders of the Cities, Counties and Town comprising Hampton Roads, Virginia, declare April 26, 2006 – April 26, 2007 to be the Year of Regional Citizenship.

During this period, which marks the twelve months preceding the 400th anniversary of the historic landing of English settlers on the shores of Virginia, we call upon local governments, organizations of all kinds and individual citizens to reflect on our shared history, acknowledge our social and economic interdependence and commit to seek and pursue opportunities for partnerships and alliances. Further we encourage all residents to celebrate the diversity of our population and variety of our attractions, in order to enhance the commercial vitality and quality of life in this exceptional community for many years to come.

As signed by the following City and Town Mayors, County Board Chairs or their Designated Representatives on April 26, 2006, at Cape Henry on the grounds of Fort Story, Virginia.

| Signature | Title |                        |
|-----------|-------|------------------------|
|           |       | City of Chesapeake     |
|           |       | City of Franklin       |
|           |       | Gloucester County      |
|           |       | City of Hampton        |
|           |       | Isle of Wight County   |
|           |       | James City County      |
|           |       | City of Newport News   |
|           |       | City of Norfolk        |
|           |       | City of Poquoson       |
|           |       | City of Portsmouth     |
|           |       | Town of Smithfield     |
|           |       | Southampton County     |
|           |       | City of Suffolk        |
|           |       | Surry County           |
|           |       | City of Virginia Beach |
|           |       | City of Williamsburg   |
|           |       | York County            |