

City of Hampton

Notice of Action

City Council Ceremonial Session

Mayor Jimmy Gray Vice Mayor Steven L. Brown Councilmember Randy C. Bowman, Sr. Councilmember Carolyn S. Campbell Councilmember Michelle Taylor Ferebee Councilmember Hope L. Harper Councilmember Martha M. Mugler

STAFF: Mary Bunting, City Manager Courtney R. Sydnor, City Attorney Katherine K. Glass, MMC, Clerk of Council

Wednesday, May 14, 2025

5:30 PM

Council Chambers

Recognition of Hampton City Schools Dual Enrollment Students

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Gray called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m. All members of the City Council were present.

CEREMONIAL ITEMS - Spotlight on Hampton City Schools' Dual Enrollment Students

Mayor Gray welcomed the following individuals from Hampton City Schools: Dr. Richard Mason, School Board Chair; Stephanie Jackson Afonja, School Board Vice Chair; Dr. Raymond Haynes, Superintendent; Dr. John Caggiano, Deputy Superintendent and Chief of Staff; Shameka Pollard, Chief of Secondary School Leadership; Dr. Tanya V. Howard, Executive Principal of Bethel High School; Travis Oliver, Academy Principal of Bethel High School; Dr. David Coccoli, Principal of Phoebus High School; and Lindsey Jackson, Academy Principal of Phoebus High School.

Brian Marchese, Outreach and Creative Coordinator, then read the name of the 65 students being honored tonight and they received certificates from the City Council acknowledging their significant achievement.

Those students were: Jaziyah Aaron,Ta'Syanna Allen, Ysabella Alt, Nathaniel Anthony Jr., Shawn Anthony, Taylor Barnes, Robert Beach, NaTayshia Bogucki, Sade Bolden, Kadence Bone, Kayla Bradley, Sarae Brown, Laurryn Burrow, Trinity Chambers, Jai Connors, Jaedon Cooper, Averie Cox, Nicolas Cuellar Luligo, Shemiah Davidson, Genesis Davis-Johnson, Sol Edmund, Lumavie Feldt, Kalia Flournoy, Joseph Frederick, Aubrey Gergets, Kadence Grase, Joaquin Harrison, Liam Hayden, Jeffery Hickman-Washington, Dante James, Calise Johnson, Tiana Johnson, Destiny Jones, Jahsir Jones, Farriss Knight, Aidan Lane, James Leimgruber, Madison Marshall, Aireona Martin, Xavier Misse Ndong, Emily Moore, Giovanni Pascale, Anayiah Perry, Journey Rice, Lidsy Rivera, Ariana Robinson, Josiah Robinson, Zahra Sandifer, Jordan Sargent, Kaelynn Sears, Diamond Smith, Jeremiah Smith, Owen Smith, Robert Staton III, Hayleigh Stump, Alaysia Thomas, Zanae Thurman, Makhia Todd, Bishop Upton, Demante Williams, Zariah Williams, Isabelle Wilson, Charis Winder, Layla Witherspoon, and Lillie Young.

ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Gray made a few closing comments and also invited Dr. Raymond Haynes, Superintendent of Hampton City Schools to share information on the dual enrollment program. To date, Hampton City Schools has had 226 students who received their Associates Degree while in high school. The meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.