

# City of Hampton



# **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-0323, Version: 1

Consideration of appointments to Youth Commission

#### PURPOSE/BACKGROUND:

## **Background**

The Hampton Youth Commission, established in 1997, is one of the numerous initiatives implemented by the City of Hampton to support youth engagement in the community. The Hampton Youth Commission is comprised of high school students who involve youth and adults in their policy making, participate in projects that have a long term impact on the City of Hampton, and create partnerships with adult community leaders. Young people who participate in the Hampton Youth Commission have the opportunity to participate in activities that contribute to the entire community and influence decision making. The Hampton Youth Commission is also charged with maintaining and implementing the Youth Component of the City of Hampton Community Plan.

## **Composition of the Commission**

The Commission is comprised of up to twenty-five (25) members. The Commission should strive for a composition that reflects the diversity of the youth population. Together, the Commission membership should be representative of all four (4) public high schools and a variety of other local educational programs (i.e. private school, homeschooler, alternative education, and the like).

Commissioners must be students, in good academic standing, entering the ninth (9th) through twelfth (12th) grades in the fall of that year. If there are vacant positions on the Youth Commission, rising seniors may fill the positions. Commissioners must be residents of Hampton during their service on the Hampton Youth Commission.

## **Appointment of Commissioners**

All Commission members are appointed by City Council. The Hampton Youth Commission submit nominations to the City Council, in writing, for their consideration.

#### **Terms**

Members of the Commission serve two (2) year terms. Commissioners may serve additional consecutive terms as long as they are high school students.

### **Hampton Youth Commission Nominations**

Noel Adejayan, Mark Almond, Nazareth Cortez, Oluwagbemiduro Easter, Dativa Eyembe, Zavion Findlay, Morgan Harris, Maleek Hill, Jeremiah Howie, Aniyah Jackson, Christopher Jennings, Rebecca Klemer, Peibo Li, Samantha Rodriguez, Alex Luchtenberg, Jordan Matthias, Amanda Olney, Mackenzie Phillips, Aigner Robinson, Catriona Sixbey, Michael Sutton, Gabrielle Thomas, Kajah Tisdale and Xaiver Williams.